Connect with us

Amsterdam Guide

Amsterdam passport and visa information

Please note – Although we do our best to keep this information up-to-date, passport and visa regulations are subject to constant change so use the Netherlands Visa Links below for up to date information.

For up to the minute information call the Dutch Embassy on

0031 70 348 64 86

Please ensure that you check passport and visa requirements directly with the foreign office or the relevant embassy before travel.

Up to date as ofApril 28th2016

Passport / Visa Information


1.Do I require a visa to visit Netherlands (also see below for UK Visas)

2.How do I get a visa

3.I am in transit, do I need a visa to enter Netherlands

(Nationals who must have an airport transit visa (ATV) to enter Netherlands.

4.Applying for a Schengen visa

I want to stay longer than 3 months ( stays of 3 months or longer )

To stay for an uninterrupted period of more than three months, you will require a special visa called an authorisation for temporary stay (MVV). Such a visa is required by the nationals of all countries except the EU member states and a few other countries.

Countries whose nationalsdo notneed an MVVfor a stay of over three months

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland,France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein,Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rumania,Slovenia, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Czech Republic, United Kingdom, United States

All other countries require a visa.If your country is NOT listed above YOU DO NEED A VISA to enter the Netherlands.

Note: The Netherlands is a signatory to the 1995 Schengen Agreement. For further details about passport/visa regulations within the Schengen area see the introductory section.

Passportsintroductory section.

Passport valid for at least 3 months after the last day of the intended visit required by all except (a) 1. nationals of EU countries, Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Malta, Monaco, Norway, San Marino and Switzerland holding a valid national ID card. (b) Holders of Certificate of Identity issued by the Government of Cyprus to nationals of Cyprus. (c) Holders of a Hong Kong Certificate of Identity.

Visas: Required by all except the following for stays of up to 3 months:

(a) nationals referred to in the chart and under passport exemptions above;

(b) nationals of Andorra, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus (except holders of Certificate of Identity issued by the Government of Cyprus, who do require a visa), Czech Republic, El Salvador, Estonia, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Korea (Rep), Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Switzerland, Uruguay, Vatican City and Venezuela;

(c) transit passengers continuing their journey to/from other Schengen countries within 72 hours by the same or first connecting aircraft, provided holding onward or return documentation and not leaving the airport.

Note: Nationals of Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Congo (Dem Rep), Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Sierre Leone, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan and Syria passing through The Netherlands always require a transit visa, unless holding a Residence Permit for EEA countries, UK or temporary residence for Canada and the USA, or they hold a confirmed onward ticket and are not leaving the transit lounge. Transit passengers are advised to check transit regulations with the relevant Embassy or Consulate before travelling.

Types of visa and cost:A uniform type of visa, the Schengen visa, is issued free of charge for the relevant Schengen member nationals, for tourist, business and private visits. Short-stay, Multiple-entry and Transit visas are available for between £17-35, although prices are subject to change. All visas are subject to a visa handling charge of between £7-£35, depending on the type of visa and the exchange rate. The Consulate (or Consular section at Embassy) can be contacted for further details.

Note: Spouses and children of EU nationals (providing spouse’s passport and the original marriage certificate are produced), and nationals of some other countries, receive their visas free of charge (enquire at Embassy or Consulate for details). Nationals of the Dominican Republic, Ghana, India, Nigeria and Pakistan should have their marriage and birth certificates verified and legalised by the relevant Netherlands Embassy or a visa fee will be charged.

Validity: Short-stay visas are valid for up to 6 months from thedate of issue for single or multiple entries of maximum 90 days per entry. Transit visas are valid for single or multiple entries of maximum 5 days per entry, including the day of arrival. Visas cannot be extended; a new application must be made each time.

Application to: Consulate (or Consular section at Embassy);see Contact Addresses section. Applications should be made in person. A limited number of tokens are handed out each day and are dealt with on a first come, first served basis. Travellers visiting just one Schengen country should apply to the Consulate of that country; travellers visiting more than one Schengen country should apply to the Consulate of the country chosen as the main destination or the country they will enter first (if they have no main destination).

Application requirements: (a) Passport (valid for at least 3 months longer than the validity of the visa requested) containing a blank page to affix the visa. (b) Completed application form. (c) One passport-size photo. (d) Fee, where applicable (payable in cash or by postal order). (e) In certain cases, a letter indicating thepurpose of the visit or an accommodation booking or onward/return ticket. (f) Evidence of sufficient funds for theperiod of stay (eg bank statements or a minimum of £30 per day). (g) For business visas, an invitation from a Dutch company and a recent letter from the applicant’s employer, solicitor, bank manager or local Chamber of Commerce. (h) For students, a letter from the applicant’s school, college or university.

Note:(a) The number of forms and photos required may vary according to the nationality of the applicant. (b) The applicant may also be asked to provide further relevant documentation in certain cases.

Working days required: Normally within 24 hours, but can take up to 3 months for certain nationals. It is essential to apply with plenty of time to spare with three weeks at the very least but longer is recommened.

Temporary residence: Work permit and residence permit required for non-EU nationals. Enquire at Consulate (or Consular section at Embassy) for further information; see Contact Addresses section.

Call the Dutch Embassy on this number 0031 70 348 64 86

or call the IND on weekdays from 9.00 am to 5.00 pm.

Call (inside Netherlands)088 0430 430(normal charges apply).

From abroad / outside Netherlands you can call+31 88 0430 430.

Continue Reading

Amsterdam Apartments